Company Profile

Introduction

The family owned business, Kraeber & Co GmbH, is an independent, technology based enterprise which was founded on the 1st January 1980 in Hamburg.

Hanseatic tradition together with courageous entrepreneurship characterize our company. We are committed to open and global competition which we stand up with our service capabilities. Our emphasis is the development, production, marketing and sales of active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) of the highest purity. Kraeber has evolved into a niche marketer and supplier. By continously innovating productions, we became the quality market leader in Europe and in other parts of the world for many of our products.

We supply chemicals, biochemicals and animal blood fractions to the pharmaceutical, biotechnological, cosmetical, veterinary and both the human and animal food supplement and nutraceuticals industries. Also intermediates and high purity substances are offered for laboratory and research. These substances are available in bulk, not as finished preparations, to avoid any competition with our customers.

Reliability, fairness and responsibility have a high value in the relationship with our customers and our employees. Continuity, quality and the documentation of the quality procedures are the basis of our business.

We understand the term quality as being excellency in processing and analytical control and prompt customer service. It also involves well documented production and testing methods in cGMP conditions and in the documentation as AMSF in CTD format; thus enabling our customers to register their products. We wish to convey all the necessary advantages to our customers in order that they succeed.

Our "Total Quality Management" system includes a "Site Master File" as per PIC-Document PH 06/91, cGMP, used for the production and the documentation of human and veterinary APIs, the installation, qualification, validation of the production site and equipment, the production processes and the documentation, the permanent education and qualification of our personel. This was backed up in 2001 by the installation of state of the art data processing equipment and the "CHARISMA" software supplied by GUS AG, Köln, for the handling of the commercial and quality documents following the GMP requirements. The software has been validated in 2006. We have been certified to ISO 9001:2008.

To maintain our financial independence we follow a conservative cautious policy with financial planning and controlling. Profits are used primarily to strengthen our assets and to promote expansion. We do not follow the idea of 'shareholder value' but the utility for the company and the employees.

To reach our aims of gaining higher benefits we employ well trained, motivated employees working in an independent, selfmotivated way in their area of responsibility. We have a profit center system and the employees participate in a profit linked bonus system. We take our social responsibility and give a high priority to the interests of the employees by securing jobs and apprenticeships. Safety and environmental protection also has high priority. We have, for example, installed a photovoltaic system with 44.5 kWp / 36.5 kWh. A geothermic system for heating and cooling is planned.

Business Development

With the overall upturn in the development of the biotechnology market since 1997 and the increased demands of several customers, it was evident and appropriate that relocation was necessary in order to expand production facilities. Therefore, Kraeber acquired a production and office facility in Ellerbek in 1998 / 1999. A fully functional newly furnished production was installed in 1999. In 2002 the office space was extended and in 2008 further clean-rooms for the production have been installed. There remains space for further expansion.

The production laboratory and documentation has been built according to cGMP for the manufacture of pharmaceutical active ingredients. Class B, C, and D clean rooms with working area A have been installed and there is a deep-freezing room to store products at -20 °C as well as freezing rooms and cooled production areas also meeting class C.

Kraeber intends to concentrate its own production efforts in Ellerbek on blood fractionation and the extraction of materials from animal tissues. The company will continue to have joint ventures and co-operations with small to medium sized manufacturers and laboratory organisations who are specialists in production but who require the sales and marketing expertise of Kraeber. This strategy has proven to be successful and has enabled Kraeber to retain flexibility and to meet the demands of the customers without affecting security of supplies, quality and continuity.

Research and Development

The quality of our products is continuously improved by innovations in production processing, analysing, documentation and service.

Quite often the improvements in analytical developments, documentation and customer services are stimulated by the demands and feedback of customers. Furthermore, in the case of analytical requirements, the company works closely with independent laboratories and research institutes. In general, production and processing improvements will continue to be carried out in our own laboratories, where necessary, with the companies to whom subcontract manufacture is placed. Part of the used know how is given by our customers, partly it is acquired from other sources.

In the area of product research Kraeber will continue to concentrate on the following subjects: biological and microbiological substances, animal blood fractions and other animal extracts, carbon hydrates, organic chemical active ingredients, excipients and intermediates for the pharmaceutical, biotechnology, diagnostic, cosmetic and health food industries.

The Structure of the Organisation

The company has six divisions:

  1. Production

    In addition to the fractionation of blood from 18 animal species we extract and separate from other tissues. Contract filtration and other contract productions are an important factor.

  2. Animal Blood Fractionation

    Kraeber is the main European manufacturer of animal blood fractions presently reared from 18 spezies for supply to the biotechnology, diagnostic, pharmaceutical and cosmetic industries.
    Registered as technical facility according to EC-1069/2009 as number DE 01 056 0005 14
    Registered as per ┬ž17 FMG (German Feed Law) as supplier for feed and feed mixtures.

  3. Synthetic Substances

    Organic chemical substances as active pharmaceutical ingredients, excipients and intermediates supplied to the pharmaceutical and cosmetic industry as well as refined materials in bulk for sale to the laboratory chemical sector.

  4. Biochemical Substances

    Active biopharmaceutical ingredients and excipients, cosmeceuticals and nutraceuticals are supplied to the human and veterinary pharmaceutical, cosmetic, health food and pet food industries.

  5. Kraeber (UK) Ltd., Newmarket, GB

    Marketing and sales of the Kraeber products in the UK.

    Kraeber (UK) Ltd has also sales and marketing agreements with:
    Biolog Biotechnologie und Logistik GmbH, Landsberg, Germany
    Maripro AS, Avaldsnes, Norway
    Seagarden AS, Avaldsnes, Norway (for the non-food industries)

Corporate Social Responsibility

For some time now, international discussion has focussed on Corporate Social Responsibility and the introduction of standards to be complied with by companies involved in international trade. The standards discussed include, amongst others:

Fair social and labour standards, preservation of the environment, energy saving, social commitment, commitment to training, and the fight against corruption.

As a SME family business, we endeavour to not only comply with such standards within our company but to also help improve the social environment of, above all, children and young people.

Our external commitments include:

  • Contributing financially to the purchase and maintenance of a minibus for the Ellerbek Youth Fire-Fighters.
  • Contributing financially to the production of an "Addiction Prevention" brochure for distribution in schools.
  • Donating a set of reflective road safety vests to the Ellerbek Kindergarten.
  • Donations for the printing of the handbook 'Arbeitsbuch zur Radfahrpr├╝fung' issued by the Kreisverkehrswacht Pinneberg.
  • Donations for a new vehicle for the youth and family division of the AWO Schleswig-Holstein gGmbH.
  • Contributing financially to the production of a 'Cycling Examination Work Book' for the Bicycle Safety Test.

Our Internal commitment:

  • For years we have been providing two Apprenticeships. We strive to train these young people to become independent, self motivating and self responsible staff members. In most cases, we recruited these trainees after the end of their apprenticeship.
  • We offer internships to school or university students several times a year.
  • Providing part-time employments and flexible working hours to our employees.
  • Providing free visits to a fitness center for our employees. More than half of our staff participate in the programme.
  • Our employees participate in the profit of the company by a profit linked bonus system.
  • Our main concern is not shareholder value but the benefits for the company and its employees.

Preservation of the Environment:

  • To contribute to the preservation of the environment, we installed a 44.5 kWp/36.5 kWh photovoltaic system in 2005. Until December 2009 we produced 149.000 kWh and avoided 79 mt of CO2.
  • The installation of the photovoltaic system was combined with an additional thermal insulation of the roof of our building.
  • Paper/cardboard and plastics are recycled.

Fight against Corruption and Bad Practice

  • As a globally operating company, corruption is unacceptable to us. We abstain from cooperating with companies that attempt to engage us in such practices.
  • Since its formation in 1980, Kraeber & Co GmbH has behaved as an "honourable trader". Reliability, responsibility and fairness is the basis for our cooperation with our customers and suppliers. We abstain from cooperating with companies that are not prepared to uphold these principles.

Energy Saving:

  • Our premises have good thermal insulation and a modern heating- and hot water system. Lighting, operational equipment and IT systems all comply with modern energy saving standards.
  • We intend to install a geothermal or combined heat and power system as soon as we find a company or expert, able to develop for us a system which combines the generation of heat and refrigeration and operates economically.

Future Outlook

During the past years, substantial investments have been made

  • in our new facility in 1999,
  • in additional office space and store rooms 2002,
  • in new hardware and software,
  • in new equipment,
  • in development and introduction of new products or of improved qualities,
  • in the installment of the ISO-9001:2008 documentation and completion of the GMP documentation,
  • in taking shares in other companies,
  • in the protection of the environment by installing a photovoltaic system with 44.5 kWp,
  • in additional clean rooms for our production facilities 2008.

These investments have been financed mainly from the cashflow. They will ensure further development and future growth of the company.

Top of Page
Please inform our about problems with this page.
Design & Service by InWise® GmbH, D-25474 Ellerbek
Last modified on November, 27. 2014.

Unternehmensprofil

Einführung

Die Firma Kraeber & Co GmbH ist ein unabhängiges, technologieorientiertes Familienunternehmen und wurde per 1. Januar 1980 mit Sitz in Hamburg gegründet.

Hanseatische Kaufmannstradition, verbunden mit mutigem Unternehmertum charakterisieren unsere Firma. Wir stehen für freien und globalen Wettbewerb, in dem wir uns mit unserer Leistungsfähigkeit behaupten. Unser Ziel ist die Entwicklung, die Herstellung und der Vertrieb von aktiven pharmazeutischen Wirkstoffen (APIs) und Hilfsstoffen in höchster Reinheit. Kraeber hat sich durch Innovation in der Produktion zu einem Lieferanten von Nischenprodukten entwickelt. Wir sind bei vielen unserer Produkte Marktführer in der Qualität und alleiniger Hersteller der hochreinen Qualität in Europa, teilweise auf dem weltweiten Markt.

Wir liefern Chemikalien, Biochemikalien und tierische Blutfraktionen an die human- und veterinär pharmazeutische, biotechnologische und kosmetische, und auch an die Nahrungs- und Futtermittelindustrie. Zwischenprodukte und Reinstchemikalien werden für den Laborgebrauch angeboten. Um Konkurrenzsituationen mit unseren Kunden zu vermeiden liefern wir nur Bulkmengen, keinesfalls Fertigpräparate.

Werte wie Zuverlässigkeit, Fairness und Verantwortung im Umgang mit unseren Kunden und Mitarbeitern haben einen hohen Stellenwert. Kontinuität, Qualität und deren Dokumentation sind die Grundlage unserer Aktivitäten.

Qualität definieren wir als Summe von Produkt- und Verfahrenseigenschaften, der analytischen Qualitätskontrolle, schnellem Service, sowie der Herstellung und Dokumentation entsprechend den cGMP-Guidelines und die Dokumentation als AMSF im CTD-Format für die Registrierungsunterlagen unserer Kunden. Wir wollen unseren Kunden einen "Mehrwert" bieten.

Unser "Total Quality Management" System umfaßt die Erstellung eines "Site Master Files" nach PIC-Dokument PH 06/91, unter Anwendung der cGMP Richtlinien für die Herstellung und Dokumentation der Wirkstoffe, der Installation, der Qualifizierung und Validierung der Produktionsanlagen und Herstellungsprozesse, sowie die permanente Schulung und Spezialisierung unseres Personals. Die für diesen Zweck im Jahre 2001 installierte neue Hard- und Software unterstützt alle Bereiche unserer Tätigkeit. Wir installierten die "CHARISMA" Software der GUS AG, Köln, für die Auftragsabwicklung und die cGMP-gerechte Dokumentation der Herstellung und der Chargenrückverfolgbarkeit. Die Software wurde 2006 entsprechend den cGMP-Regularien validiert. Wir sind zertifiziert nach ISO 9001:2008.

Die finanzielle Unabhängigkeit erhalten wir durch eine konservativ vorsichtige Finanzpolitik mit Finanzplanung und Controlling. Gewinne werden zur Stärkung der Eigenkapitalbasis und für Investitionen zur Expansion verwendet. Für uns ist nicht der 'shareholder value' wichtig, sondern der Nutzen für das Unternehmen und für die Mitarbeiter.

Unsere Ziele erreichen wir durch gut ausgebildete, motivierte und mitdenkende Mitarbeiter, denen im Rahmen eines partizipativen Führungsstils klare Verantwortungsbereiche mit den entsprechenden Kompetenzen zugeordnet sind. Durch ein Erfolgsbeteiligungsmodell erhalten unsere Mitarbeiter einen festen Anteil am Erfolg. Wir übernehmen soziale Verpflichtungen durch die Sicherung von Arbeits- und Ausbildungsplätzen. Wir setzen einen starken Akzent auf Sicherheit und Umweltschutz, z.B. durch die Installation einer Photovoltaikanlage mit 44,5 kWp / 36,5 kWh. Eine Geothermieanlage zum Heizen und Kühlen ist in Planung.

Geschäftliche Entwicklung

Die 1997 einsetzende günstige Entwicklung in der Biotechnologie und die Anforderungen einiger Kunden, die einen erheblich steigenden Bedarf anmeldeten, veranlaßten Kraeber 1998 / 1999, in Ellerbek bei Hamburg ein Produktionslabor zu errichten. 2002 wurden weitere Büroflächen und 2008 weitere Reinräume für die Produktion eingebaut. Die Halle bietet eine Reserve, die eine weitere Ausweitung der Kapazität ermöglicht.

Das Produktionslabor und die Dokumentation wurden gemäß cGMP-Richtlinien erstellt. Wir verfügen über Reinräume der Klassen B, C und D sowie Arbeitsbereich A, über ein großes Tiefkühllager mit -20 °C, sowie über Kühlräume und einem gekühlten Produktionsraum der Klasse C.

Auch in Zukunft wird Kraeber die eigene Herstellung im Bereich der Fraktionierung von Tierblut und Extraktionen aus tierischen Organen weiter ausbauen. Für andere Bereiche wird, wie bisher, konsequent auf die Zusammenarbeit mit kleineren und mittleren Herstellern und Laboratorien gesetzt, die Spezialisten für die Herstellung, weniger im Bereich Verkauf und Marketing sind. Die langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit einer Reihe von Herstellungsbetrieben hat sich bewährt. Sie ermöglicht eine weit flexiblere Reaktion auf Kundenwünsche, ohne daß die Sicherheit der Lieferungen, der Qualität oder der Kontinuität in Frage zu stellen sind.

Forschung und Entwicklung

Innovationen erfolgen laufend in der Produktion im Bereich Qualität durch Verfahrensverbesserungen und Verfahrensentwicklungen.

Vielfach erfolgen Verbesserungen in der Produktion und Analytik, in der Dokumentation und im Kundenservice auf Anforderung oder Anregung der Verbraucher. In der Analytik wird eng mit unabhängigen Laboratorien und Forschungsinstituten zusammengearbeitet. Herstellungsverfahren werden meist im eigenem Labor oder gemeinsam mit Lohnherstellern erarbeitet, teilweise von Kunden für Lohnherstellungen zur Verfügung gestellt oder von uns käuflich erworben.

Produktbezogen wird die Forschung auf die folgenden Bereiche konzentriert: Kohlenhydrate, biologische und mikrobiologische Substanzen, Tierblutfraktionen und andere tierische Extrakte, chemisch-organische Wirk- und Hilfsstoffe für die pharmazeutische, biotechnologische, kosmetische und Nahrungsergänzungsmittelindustrie.

Die Struktur des Unternehmens

Die Vermarktung der Produkte erfolgt in sechs Sparten:

  1. Herstellung

    Neben der Blutfraktionierung von 18 Tierspezies werden auch Extraktionen aus anderen tierischen Teilen durchgeführt. Lohnfiltrationen und andere Lohnherstellungen sind ein bedeutender Faktor.

  2. Tierblutfraktionen

    Kraeber ist in Europa der bedeutendste Hersteller von Tierblutfraktionen und Extrakten von zur Zeit 18 Tierspezies für die Biotechnologie, Diagnostik, Pharmazie und Kosmetik.
    Zulassungsnummer als technische Anlage gemäß EU-1069/2009: DE 01 056 0005 14.
    Registriert nach §17 FMG als Lieferant für Einzelfuttermittel oder Vormischungen.

  3. Synthetische Substanzen

    Chemisch-organische Substanzen als aktive Wirkstoffe, Hilfsstoffe oder Zwischenprodukte für die pharmazeutische und kosmetische Industrie und als Reinstsubstanzen im Bulk für den Verkauf als Laborchemikalien.

  4. Biochemische Substanzen

    Substanzen für die Human- und Veterinärmedizin, die Kosmetik, Nahrungsergänzungs- und Futtermittelindustrie

  5. Kraeber (UK) Ltd., Newmarket, GB

    Marketing und Verkauf der Kraeber Produkte.

    Kraeber (UK) Ltd. vertritt in Großbritannien:
    Biolog Biotechnologie und Logistik GmbH, Landsberg
    Maripro AS, Avaldsnes, Norwegen
    Seagarden AS, Avaldsnes, Norwegen (im Non-Food Bereich)

Gesellschaftlich verantwortliches Handeln

International wird seit einiger Zeit heftig über gesellschaftlich verantwortliches Handeln (Corporate Social Responsibulity) und die Einführung von Normen diskutiert, die von international agierenden Firmen eingehalten werden sollten. Zu den einzuhaltenden Standards, die diskutiert werden, gehören z.B.:

soziale Arbeitsnormen, Umweltschutz, Energiesparen, gesellschaftliches Engagement, Verantwortung für Ausbildung, Bekämpfung der Korruption.

Als kleines mittelständisches Familienunternehmen bemühen wir uns, diesen Anforderungen nicht nur innerhalb unseres Unternehmens gerecht zu werden sondern auch das gesellschaftliche Umfeld vor allem der Kinder und Jugendlichen zu verbessern:

Dazu gehören extern:

  • Spenden für die Beschaffung eines Kleinbusses für die Jugendfeuerwehr Ellerbek.
  • Spenden für den Druck der Broschüre 'Suchtprävention', die in den Schulen verteilt wird.
  • Spenden für die Beschaffung von Verkehrs-Schutzwesten für eine Kindergruppe des Kindergartens in Ellerbek.
  • Spenden für den Druck des 'Arbeitsbuches zur Radfahrprüfung' der Kreisverkehrswacht Pinneberg.
  • Spenden für ein Fahrzeug der AWO Schleswig-Holstein gGmbH, Geschäftsbereich Jugend und Familie - Ambulante Erziehungshilfe.
  • Praktikumsplätze für Schul- oder Hochschulabsolventen.

Und intern:

  • Beschäftigung von jeweils zwei Auszubildenden. Wir bemühen uns, die Jugendlichen zu selbstständig und selbstverantwortlich arbeitenden Mitarbeitern auszubilden. Meist werden die 'Azubis' nach Abschluss der Ausbildung von uns übernommen.
  • Um den Wünschen und Anforderungen unserer Mitarbeiter gerecht zu werden, praktizieren wir flexible Arbeitszeiten und Teilzeit.
  • Wir ermöglichen unseren Mitarbeitern den kostenfreien Besuch eines Sport-Studios. An diesem Programm nimmt mehr als die Hälfte unserer Belegschaft teil.
  • Ein Erfolgsbeteiligungsmodell sichert unseren Mitarbeitern einen festen Anteil am Erfolg.
  • Für uns ist nicht der 'Shareholder Value' wichtig, sondern der Nutzen für das Unternehmen und seiner Mitarbeiter.

Umweltschutz:

  • Die Installation einer Photovoltaikanlage mit 44,5 kWp /36,5 kWh im Jahre 2005. Diese Installation wurde mit einer zusätzlichen Wärmeisolation unseres Daches verbunden. Bis zum Dezember 2009 erzeugten wir 149.000 kWh Strom und vermieden 79 mt CO2.
  • Wertstoffe wie Papier/Pappe und Kunststoffe werden einer Wiederverwertung zugeführt.

Korruption:

  • Als global agierende Firma ist Korruption für uns kein Thema. Wir verzichten auf eine Zusammenarbeit mit Firmen die solche Leistungen von uns fordern.
  • Seit ihrer Gründung 1980 hält sich die Firma Kraeber & Co GmbH an die Regeln eines 'ehrbaren Kaufmanns'. Die Einhaltung eingegangener Verpflichtungen und der faire Umgang mit Kunden und Lieferanten sind bei uns die Grundlage unseres Geschäftes. Wir verzichten auf die Zusammenarbeit mit Firmen, die nicht bereit sind, sich an diese Regeln zu halten.

Energiesparen:

  • Wir verfügen über ein gut wärmeisoliertes Gebäude und über eine moderne Heiz- und Heißwasseranlage. Unsere Beleuchtung, die im Betrieb verwendeten Geräte und die EDV entsprechen modernem energiesparendem Standard.
  • Wir werden eine Geothermieanlage oder eine Kraft/Wärmekopplungsanlage installieren, sobald wir eine Firma oder einen Fachmann finden, der in der Lage ist, uns ein System zu entwickeln, dass Wärme- und Kälteproduktion kombiniert und wirtschaftlich arbeitet.

Zukunftsaussichten

Die in den letzten Jahren getätigten umfangreichen Investitionen

  • in den neuen Betrieb 1999,
  • in zusätzliche Büro- und Lagerräume 2002,
  • in neue Hard- und Software,
  • in neue Geräte und Ausstattung,
  • in die Entwicklung und Einführung neuer Produkte oder in verbesserte Qualitäten,
  • in die Einführung der ISO-9001:2008-Dokumentationen und die Vervollständigung der GMP-Dokumentationen,
  • in neue Firmenbeteiligungen,
  • in den Umweltschutz mit einer 44,5 kWp Photovoltaikanlage 2005,
  • in weitere Reinräume für die Produktion 2008,

die weitgehend aus dem Cashflow finanziert wurden, werden die Fortentwicklung und das zukünftige Wachstum sicherstellen.

Seitenanfang
Bitte informieren Sie unseren , wenn Probleme mit dieser Seite auftreten.
Design & Service durch InWise® GmbH, D-25474 Ellerbek
Letzte Änderung am 27. November 2014.