25 Years Kraeber & Co GmbH

25 Years Kraeber & Co GmbH

A Retrospect - A Prospect

On this anniversary the most significant question I ask myself is:

Would I establish my own company once again?

This question I shall answer at the end of my reflections. Beforehand, however, I shall make a few personal remarks.

The Retrospect

On the 27th November 1979 I visited a notary public with my wife (at that time two share holders were required to set up a GmbH) and asked him to register the company Kraeber & Co GmbH to begin business on the 1st January 1980. The business began with a capital of DM 100.000, of which DM 27.000 was invested in the office equipment.

At the beginning of December 1979 I received a demand from the tax office to pay DM 76.000. For this reason we effectively started the company without any working capital. The tax back payment was based on an audit of the companies Holtraco and Alfred Nupnau, their activities having been sold to the Intsel Corporation, New York, in 1977.

My "Capital" was that I was well known in the German pharmaceutical industry and viewed as trustworthy.

To assist in gaining a better understanding a short summary of my curriculum vitae:

  • Gymnasium (High School, uncompleted), 2 years 'Handelsschule' (college - commercial education)
  • Not one hour of training in Chemistry
  • Apprenticeship in the Export of "Sundries" at the Hamburg Export company Heinrich Umbach, starting 1953
  • 10 years at Karl O. Helm (now Helm AG), Hamburg, building up the Pharma-Import Department
  • 10 years as share holder in the firms, Holtraco and Alfred Nupnau with partners Peter Claus Ahrens and Hans-Jürgen Ahrens, building up again a department dealing in pharmaceutical raw materials
  • 2 years as Managing Director of the Hamburg establishment of the Intsel Corporation, New York to whom the activities of Holtraco and Alfred Nupnau were sold in 1977

Independence and self-determination are very important prerequisites for me. It was difficult to accept the situation during the time as Managing Director of Intsel, because often changing instructions coming from the central office in New York had to be followed. For the same reason I did not accept taking the management of Marsing & Co, Copenhagen. In 1978, I had assisted John Marsing in the sale of his firm, Marsing & Co, to Intsel.

We booked the first order on the 2nd January 1980, arranged through my friend Jürgen Utermark of the Hamburg broker C. Reifkogel for the company EP Feinchemikalien Handel GmbH, Hamburg, for 1000Kg pharmaceutical grade Resorcinol and 1000Kg technical grade, which I obtained from my friend Horst Dieter Katthage from Dr Bohne & Co, Schwelm. I initiated the refining of the highly purified material from the technical grade by Dr Bohne in 1964. Today we are leaders in quality in the worldwide market. This is to demonstrate the continuity of our business.

We founded the 'Kommanditgesellschaft' (limited partnership) Kraeber GmbH & Co in 1986, in which my wife and both my children, Anja and Jan were incorporated. Besides tax reasons it was our idea to bring the children into the firm as partners at an early stage. Kraeber & Co GmbH became the complementary partner of the KG and undertook the management. The routine business was from this point the responsibility of the KG.

From the beginning of my activities in the area of pharmaceutical raw materials during the sixties I recognise the following requirements as essential. They are still now the basis for our activities:

Reliability - Continuity- Quality- Price

When we are taking new products into our sales portfolio, we base on these principles. We must be able to guarantee long-term supplies and reliable qualities. Business is based on exclusivity agreements with conventional and / or contract manufactures. In 1982 we began our own production. Sheep plasma for heparin analysis was our first product. In the meantime we have become the main producer of animal blood fractions in Europe.

We restrain from doing 'spot business', to make a 'fast buck'. Continuity is most important for us, as this is the basis of reliability. My principle was always "I must not become rich this year".

The lack of finances meant that there were 12 years total dependencies on the banks. We paid temporarely up to 16 % interest. That made it difficult, to increase the necessary company capital to finance investments and the continuously growing turnover.

Help was at hand by chance. We received the request to develop a special product, which we could supply during several years generating substantial turnover with very interesting profit margin.

Problems were on the horizon in the form of new regulations and directives. In 1998 we purchased a commercial site and space in Ellerbek, in which we built our 'state of the art' production facilities for blood fractionation. Precisely at the time when we submitted our application to obtain our production licence, without preliminary warning, a new alteration was included into the German laws that active pharmaceutical ingredients of human, animal and biotechnology origin have to be produced and documentated in accordance with the GMP regulations. Our authority in Kiel informed us simultaneously that animal blood fractions used for the manufacture of vaccines or diagnostics are treated as active substances. Our submission was only accepted after two years.

In the meantime we had invested € 300.000 in our change of EDV hardware, we installed the 'Charisma' software from GUS AG, Cologne, and introduced GMP documentation. Today we are overall pleased, that we went ahead with this programme. Today all medicinal manufacturers worldwide require GMP production and documentation of all active materials.

Difficult for us was the fact that many users stopped including animal origin materials, particularly, in the manufacture of vaccines, in the cosmetic industry and in the biotechnology industry due to BSE, swine fever and chicken pest. The result was a temporary decline in turnover in the animal blood fraction division up to 70%. Meanwhile we could compensate this decline.

During 2002 Jan Michael Kraeber became an equal partner and managing director. The handing over of responsibility goes speedily on. I have reduced my working hours from 60 to 40 hours per week and can pull myself back from problems. The company is on a good financial footing and well organised, the niche products are available long term, the quality of our products correspond to or surpass the newest requirements and we have not to be anxious about our competition. The personnel is well trained, trustworthy and work independently and with self responsibility, Jan (my son) has the necessary training and knowledge and will have support from Franziska Faber (my niece), who is limited partner and authorised representative. The book keeping and accounts are handled by Anja Kuhnert (my daughter).

Thanks must not only go to my employees but also to our suppliers and contract manufacturers. Especially also, to our customers who have facilitated by continued purchases thereby helping the building and continued growth of our business. Many of my business partners, with whom I communicated through the last few decades, are in the meantime retired. It is time to hand over the responsibilities to the next generation after more than 50 years in business.

The Prospect

Now as a pensioner I have time to work!

Only without the responsibilities of the daily business, am I able to deal with new opportunities. I can seek new partners as distributors, find new products, which we can manufacture or have manufactured for us. Manufacturing procedures to find or to acquire is an interesting job.

We have a good basis for this development work. We have an extensive library, experience and knowledge to build 'clusters', i.e. cooperation between specialists, along with the access to several international databases, the access to the worldwide market and reliable partners for development work and production.

The outcome of these activities is the production of Erythrulose, a substance that acts as self-tanning agent.

Finish working? No, why should I. I have made myself self reliant, independent and self determined in my time and can choose my activities. Why should I give this up? So to answer the question that was asked at the beginning:

I would establish an own company again, but certainly not under the same circumstances.

Today one must be aware of the fact one must be able to fulfil large amounts of additional legislation. Estimated approximately 300.000 laws and directives have to be followed. A company requires at least a general manager, a production manager, a quality controller, a first aid person, a risk assessment, a safety officer, fire officer, a bookkeeper, a computer expert, a tax adviser and especially a lawyer in order to ensure that none of these laws and directives is contravened! Ah, yes, one also requires employees to do the work and to earn money.

Starting today without ones own working capital together with just two assistants, as I managed to do, is no longer possible.

I request our partners to join together with us to continue another 25 years building up new business to our mutual benefit. There are never ending opportunities that we can make every effort to make a good living. It is only necessary to bring together the special knowledge and ideas of individual experts in order to generate new business. Our part is principally the organisation of the co-operation between the specialists and the putting together information.

I have a vision: The future will bring many new and very interesting developments. We shall find our share. We are moving forward with confidence. It can only keep improving.

Jens- Uwe Kraeber
in December 2004

Top of Page
Please inform our about problems with this page.
Design & Service by InWise® GmbH, D-25474 Ellerbek
Last modified on November, 08. 2016.

25 Jahre Kraeber & Co GmbH

25 Jahre Kraeber & Co GmbH

Ein Rückblick - Ein Ausblick

Die mir zum Jubiläum meistgestellte Frage ist:

Würdest Du Dich noch einmal selbständig machen?

Die Frage beantworte ich am Ende dieser Betrachtungen. Vorab einige persönliche Bemerkungen.

Der Rückblick

Am 27. November 1979 ging ich mit meiner Frau (damals brauchte man noch zwei Gesellschafter zur Errichtung einer GmbH) zum Notar und beauftragte ihn, die Firma eintragen zu lassen, die ihre Geschäfte am 1. Januar 1980 aufnahm. Die Gesellschaft verfügte über ein Kapital von DM 100.000, davon wurden DM 27.000 in die Büroausstattung investiert.

Da ich Anfang Dezember 1979 vom Finanzamt die Aufforderung zur Zahlung von DM 76.000 erhielt, starteten wir die Firma tatsächlich ohne jedes Kapital. Die Steuernachzahlung basierte auf einer Betriebsprüfung der Holtraco und Alfred Nupnau, deren Aktivitäten wir 1977 an die Intsel Corporation verkauften.

Mein 'Kapital' war, daß man mich in der deutschen pharmazeutischen Industrie kannte und als zuverlässig betrachtete.

Zum besseren Verständnis ein kurzer Abriß meiner Ausbildung:

  • Gymnasium, abgebrochen, 2 Jahre Handelsschule
  • nie eine Stunde Unterricht in Chemie
  • Lehre 1953 im Übersee-Export in 'Sundries' bei der Hamburger Export Firma Heinrich Umbach
  • 10 Jahre Karl O.Helm (jetzt Helm AG), Hamburg, Aufbau der Pharma-Import Abteilung
  • 10 Jahre beteiligt an den Firma Holtraco und Alfred Nupnau mit den Partnern Peter Claus Ahrens und Hans-Jürgen Ahrens, Neuaufbau einer Abteilung Pharmazeutische Rohstoffe
  • 2 Jahre Geschäftsführung bei der Hamburger Niederlassung der Intsel Corporation, New York, an die die Aktivitäten der Firmen Holtraco und Alfred Nupnau 1977 verkauft wurden.

Unabhängigkeit und Selbstbestimmung sind für mich sehr wichtige Voraussetzungen. In der Zeit als Geschäftsführer bei Intsel war es für mich schwierig zu akzeptieren, daß die Zentrale in New York sich häufig ändernde Anweisungen erteilte. Auch die Möglichkeit, die Geschäftsführung bei der Firma Marsing & Co, Kopenhagen, zu übernehmen, schlug ich aus diesem Grunde aus. Ich hatte 1978 den Verkauf der Firma Marsing & Co zwischen John Marsing und Intsel vermittelt.

Als ersten Auftrag buchten wir am 2. Januar 1980, vermittelt durch meinen Freund Jürgen Utermark von der Hamburger Maklerfirma C.Reifkogel, für die Firma E.P. Feinchemikalien Handel GmbH, Hamburg, je 1000 kg Resorcin pharmazeutisch und 1.000 kg technische Ware, die ich von meinem Freund Horst Dieter Katthage von der Firma Dr. Bohne & Co, Schwelm erhielt. Bei Dr. Bohne initiierte ich die Herstellung dieser Aufreinigung aus der technischen Ware bereits 1964, heute ist unsere Qualität führend im Markt. Das demonstriert auch die Kontinuität unseres Geschäftes.

1986 gründeten wir die Kraeber GmbH & Co als Kommanditgesellschaft, in der meine Frau und meine beiden Kinder Anja und Jan beteiligt wurden. Neben steuerlichen Gründen war der Anlaß die Idee, die Kinder frühzeitig an die Firma heranzuführen.Die Kraeber & Co GmbH wurde Komplementärin und übernahm die Geschäftsführung. Das laufende Geschäft wurde fortan in der KG abgewickelt.

Schon zu Beginn meiner Tätigkeit im Bereich der pharmazeutischen Rohstoffe in den 60iger Jahren erkannte ich die Voraussetzungen, die auch heute noch die Grundlage unserer Aktivitäten sind:

Zuverlässigkeit - Kontinuität - Qualität - Preis

Basierend auf diesen Grundsätzen nahmen wir nur Produkte in unser Verkaufsprogramm auf, über die wir langfristig in gleichbleibender Qualität verfügen konnten. Wir basierten auf Alleinverkaufsvereinbarungen, Lohn- oder Auftragsherstellungen. 1982 begannen wir mit der eigenen Herstellung. Schafsplasma für die Heparin-Analyse war unser erstes Produkt. Inzwischen sind wir der größte Hersteller tierischer Blutfraktionen in Europa.

Wir verzichteten bewußt auf 'Spot'geschäfte mit denen man 'das schnelle Geld' hätte verdienen können. Die Kontinuität ist die Basis für die Zuverlässigkeit, das ist uns wichtiger. Mein Grundsatz war immer: 'Ich muß nicht in diesem Jahr reich werden.'

Das fehlende Eigenkapital bedeutete 12 Jahre lang die totale Abhängigkeit von den Banken. Wir zahlten zeitweilig bis zu 16 % Zinsen. Das machte es schwer, das notwendige Eigenkapital anzusammeln, mit dem die Investionen und die stetig wachsenden Umsätze finanziert werden konnten.

Geholfen hat uns eine Produktentwicklung für einen Kunden. Wir buchten für einige Jahre Aufträge, die wesentliche Umsätze mit sehr hohem Nutzen brachten.

Probleme bereiteten uns neue gesetzliche Vorschriften und Verordnungen. Wir kauften 1998 ein Betriebsgelände und eine Halle in Ellerbek, in die wir 1999 unseren Betrieb 'state of the art' zur Herstellung der Tierblutfraktionen einbauten. Genau zu dem Zeitpunkt, an dem wir unsere Betriebsgenehmigung beantragten, wurde - ohne Vorwarnung - in die Betriebsverordnung pharmazeutischer Unternehmer aufgenommen, daß auch Wirkstoffe menschlichen, tierischen und biotechnologischen Ursprungs nach diesen (GMP) Vorschriften herzustellen und zu dokumentieren sind. Unsere Behörde in Kiel beschied uns gleichzeitig, daß man auch Tierblutfraktionen, die für die Herstellung von Impfstoffen oder Diagnostika verwendet werden, als Wirkstoffe einstuft. Wir konnten mit der Behörde in Kiel erst in 2001 klären,daß Seren und Plasmen keine Wirkstoffe sind. In der Zwischenzeit hatten wir für Euro 300.000 unsere EDV ausgetauscht und die Charisma Software der GUS AG, Köln, installiert, die uns eine GMP gerechte Dokumentation ermöglicht. Heute sind wir allerdings froh, daß wir über diese Installation verfügen, da bereits alle Arzneimittelhersteller weltweit für alle Wirkstoffe eine GMP gerechte Herstellung und Dokumentation verlangen.

Schwierig war für uns die Tatsache, daß viele Anwender, vor allem in der Impfstoffherstellung, in der kosmetischen Industrie und in der Biotechnologie wegen BSE und wegen der damals grassierenden Schweine- und Hühnerpest, Wirk- und Hilfsstoffe tierischen Ursprungs nicht mehr einsetzten. Das verursachte bei uns in der Abteilung tierische Blutfraktionen einen Umsatzrückgang von zeitweilig bis zu 70 %. Diesen Rückgang konnten wir mittlerweile kompensieren.

Seit 2002 ist Jan Michael Kraeber gleichberechtigter Partner und Geschäftsführer. Die Übergabe der Verantwortung geht zügig voran. Ich habe bereits meine Arbeitszeit von 60 Stunden auf 40 Stunden reduziert und könnte mich problemlos zurückziehen. Die Firma ist finanziell gut aufgestellt und bestens organisiert, die angebotenen Nischenprodukte sind langfristig verfügbar, die Qualität der Produkte entspricht oder übertrifft die neuesten Anforderungen und meist haben wir nicht viele Konkurrenten zu fürchten. Das Personal ist gut ausgebildet, zuverlässig und arbeitet selbständig und selbstverantwortlich, Jan (mein Sohn) hat die notwendige Ausbildung und das notwendige Wissen und wird durch Franziska Faber (meiner Nichte) unterstützt, die in der KG Kommanditistin und Prokuristin ist. Die Buchhaltung wird durch Anja Kuhnert (meiner Tochter) geleitet.

Bedanken möchte ich mich nicht nur bei den Mitarbeitern sondern auch bei unseren Lieferanten, Lohn- und Auftragsherstellern. Insbesondere aber bei unseren Kunden, die durch Ihre laufenden Käufe uns erst den Auf- und Ausbau der Firma ermöglichten. Viele meiner Geschäftspartner, mit denen ich teilweise Jahrzehnte zusammenarbeiten konnte, sind inzwischen in Rente. Es ist Zeit, nach mehr als 50 Jahren Tätigkeit, die Verantwortung der nächsten Generation zu übertragen.

Der Ausblick

Als Rentner habe ich jetzt endlich Zeit zum Arbeiten !

Ohne die Verantwortung für das tägliche Geschäft, kann ich mich jetzt mit neuen Dingen befassen. Ich kann neue Partner als Lieferanten suchen, neue Produkte finden, die wir herstellen oder herstellen lassen können. Herstellungsverfahren zu finden oder mit Partnern zu erarbeiten, das sind interessante Aufgaben.

Die Grundlagen stehen uns zur Verfügung. Wir haben eine umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Kenntnis und Erfahrung, 'Cluster' zu bilden, d.h Kooperationen zwischen Spezialisten aufzubauen, Zugang zu diversen internationalen Datenbanken, die Nähe zum internationalem Markt und erfahrene und zuverlässige Partner für Entwicklungsarbeiten und Herstellung.

Das Ergebnis dieser Aktivitäten ist die gerade begonnene Herstellung der Erythrulose, einer Substanz, die als Hautbräunungsmittel bestens geeignet und auch zugelassen ist.

Aufhören ? Nein, warum sollte ich. Ich habe mich selbständig gemacht, um unabhängig und selbstbestimmt über meine Zeit und Aktivitäten entscheiden zu können. Warum soll ich das aufgeben ? Um die am Anfang gestellte Frage zu beantworten:

Ich würde mich wieder selbständig machen, allerdings keinesfalls unter den gleichen Bedingungen.

Heute muß man auch in der Lage sein, die vielfältigen zusätzlich vom Gesetzgeber geschaffenen Auflagen zu erfüllen. Geschätzt etwa 300.000 Gesetze und Verordnungen sind zu beachten. Man braucht für eine Firma mindestens einen Geschäftsführer, einen Herstellungsleiter, einen Kontrollleiter, einen Ersthelfer, einen Gefahrgutbeauftragten, einen Sicherheitsbeauftragten, einen Brandschutzbeauftragten, einen Buchhalter, einen Controller, einen Steuerberater, und ?, eigentlich auch einen Juristen, der aufpassen müßte, das man keines der vielen Gesetze oder Verordnungen übersieht ! Ach ja, man braucht auch noch Angestellte, die die Arbeit machen und das Geld verdienen.

Ohne Eigenkapital, so wie ich die Firma noch aufbauen konnte und mit nur zwei Assistentinnen, ist ein Start heute nicht mehr möglich.

Ich bitte unsere Partner, auch in den nächsten 25 Jahren mit uns zusammen das Geschäft zum gemeinsamen Nutzen auszubauen. Es gibt noch unendlich viele Nischen, in denen man bei gemeinsamen Anstrengungen gut leben kann. Es ist erforderlich, das spezielle Wissen und die Ideen der einzelnen Fachleute zusammenzubringen und neues Geschäft zu generieren. Unser Part ist hauptsächlich, die Organisation von Kooperationen zwischen Spezialisten, das Sammeln von Informationen sowie Marketing und der Verkauf.

Die Zukunft wird viele neue und interessante Entwicklungen bringen. Wir werden unseren Teil dazu beitragen.Ich sehe der Zukunft unserer Firma gelassen und zuversichtlich entgegen. Eigentlich kann es nur (noch) besser werden.

Jens-Uwe Kraeber
im Dezember 2004

Seitenanfang
Bitte informieren Sie unseren , wenn Probleme mit dieser Seite auftreten.
Design & Service durch InWise® GmbH, D-25474 Ellerbek
Letzte Änderung am 08. November 2016.